Automated enforcement laws

State Type of violation Are cameras permitted? Where are cameras permitted? Cameras in place? Penalties Other provisions
Alabama red light yes, by state law and city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes fine (ranging from minimum of $60 to minimum of $110 depending on the jurisdiction); generally not listed in criminal or driving record none
speed yes, by state law and city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes fine (ranging from minimum of $60 to minimum of $100 depending on the jurisdiction and speed above the limit); generally not included in criminal or driving record none
Alaska red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Arizona red light yes, by state law statewide yes same as traditional enforcement penalty: maximum $250 fine and 2 points not permitted on state highways; not placed within 600 feet of posted speed limit change except near school crossing
speed yes, by state law statewide yes same as traditional enforcement penalty: maximum $250 fine and 3 points not permitted on state highways; not placed within 600 feet of posted speed limit change except near school crossing
Arkansas red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed yes, by state law school zones or at a railroad crossing no none specified police officer must be present and must issue citation at time and place of violation
California red light yes, by state law statewide yes same as traditional enforcement penalty: $100 base fine and approximately $400 additional fees plus 1 point none
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Colorado red light yes, by state law and city ordinance statewide yes maximum fine of $75; not reportable to Department of Public Safety; no points and not included in driving record none
speed yes, by state law and city ordinance school zones, residential neighborhoods, construction zones, and streets that border a municipal park yes maximum fine of $40, unless violation occurs in school zone or construction zone; not reportable to the Department of Public Safety; no points and not included in driving record police officer or government employee must be present at time of alleged violation; in construction zones, citations issued only when construction is occurring
Connecticut red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Delaware red light yes, by state law and city ordinance statewide yes civil or administrative assessment not to exceed $110; not classified as a criminal offense, shall not be made a part of the driving record, and shall not be used for insurance purposes; DMV shall suspend license for failing to pay assessment none
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
District of Columbia red light yes, by law citywide yes $150 fine; DMV cannot suspend license for failure to pay fine or penalty; no points none
speed yes, by law citywide yes fine, which varies depending on how fast above the speed limit the vehicle is traveling; DMV cannot suspend license for failure to pay fine or penalty; no points none
Florida red light yes, by state law statewide yes $158 fine; no points none
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Georgia red light yes, by state law and city ordinance statewide yes civil monetary penalty of not more than $70; not considered a moving traffic violation, no points, not listed in driving record, and not used for insurance purposes none
speed yes, by state law 7/1/2018 12:00:00 AM school zones 7/1/2018 12:00:00 AM no civil monetary penalty of $75 for a first offense and $125 for second or subsequent offenses; additional processing fees may not exceed $25 cameras may only be used to capture violations one hour before through one hour after instructional school time
Hawaii red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Idaho red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Illinois red light yes, by state law and city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes civil penalty not to exceed $100 or the completion of a traffic education program, or both; license suspension for failing to pay any fine for multiple offenses; not considered a violation of a traffic regulation and not recorded on driving record none
speed yes, by state law and city ordinance in a construction or maintenance speed zone; in a safety zone (within 1/8th of a mile of a school or a park district used for recreational purposes) in municipalities with a population of 1,000,000 or more inhabitants yes in construction zones, minimum $375 fine; in safety zones, fine, which varies depending on how fast above the speed limit the vehicle is traveling; license suspension for failing to pay any fine for multiple offenses; not considered a violation of a traffic regulation and not included in driving record in construction zones, citations issued only when workers are present; in safety zones, citations issued only during certain hours
Indiana red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Iowa red light yes, not by state law, but by city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes fine (ranging from $65 to $100 depending on the jurisdiction); not listed on driving record none
speed yes, not by state law, but by city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes fine (ranging from $5 to $500 depending on jurisdiction and speed above the limit); certain jurisdictions double fines in construction zones; not listed on driving record none
Kansas red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Kentucky red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Louisiana red light yes, by state law and city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes fine (ranging from $100 to $125 depending on the jurisdiction); not classified a criminal conviction and not included in driving record none
speed yes, by state law and city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes fine, which varies depending on how fast above the speed limit the vehicle is traveling and the jurisdiction; not classified a criminal conviction and not included in driving record not permitted on interstate highways, except when placed in construction zones where workers are present and operated by the state
Maine red light no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a n/a
speed no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a n/a
Maryland red light yes, by state law statewide yes maximum fine of $100; vehicle registration may be suspended for failing to pay fine; not a moving violation for the purpose of assessing points, not included in the driving record, and shall not be used for insurance purposes none
speed yes, by state law and city ordinance school zones, Montgomery County residential districts, areas in or near institutes of higher education in Prince George's County; construction zones on expressways or controlled access highways on which the speed limit is 45 mph or greater yes maximum fine of $40; vehicle registration may be suspended for failing to pay fine; not a moving violation for the purpose of assessing points, not included in the driving record, and shall not be used for insurance purposes in school zones, citations issued only during certain hours; in construction zones, system used only to record images of vehicles traveling at least 12 mph above speed limit
Massachusetts red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Michigan red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Minnesota red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Mississippi red light no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a n/a
speed no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a n/a
Missouri red light yes, not by state law, but by city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes fine (generally, $100); no points in certain jurisdictions none
speed yes, not by state law, but by city ordinance specified jurisdictions no $100 fine; certain jurisdictions increase to $200 fine for traveling 20 mph over speed limit certain jurisdictions limit violations to school zones and on streets that include crosswalks used by children when going to or leaving school
Montana red light no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Nebraska red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Nevada red light yes, by state law statewide no none specified red light camera equipment must be held in hand or installed temporarily or permanently within law enforcement vehicle or facility
speed yes, by state law statewide no none specified speed camera equipment must be held in hand or installed temporarily or permanently within law enforcement vehicle or facility
New Hampshire red light no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a n/a
speed no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a use of camera or other device to determine vehicle ownership or identify vehicle occupants is prohibited unless specifically authorized by statute
New Jersey red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a n/a
New Mexico red light yes, by state law and city ordinance specified jurisdictions no fine (ranging from $66 to $100 depending on the jurisdiction); certain jurisdictions allow vehicle seizure for nonpayment of fine not permitted on state and federal roadways
speed yes, not by state law, but by city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes $100 fine; certain jurisdictions allow vehicle seizure for nonpayment of fine mobile enforcement vans not permitted on state and federal roadways
New York red light yes, by state law and city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes maximum fine of $50; not classified as a criminal offense, not included in driving record, and not used for insurance purposes none
speed yes, by state law specified jurisdictions yes maximum fine of $50; not classified as a criminal offense, not included in driving record, and not used for insurance purposes not permitted on a controlled-access highway exit ramp or within three hundred feet along a highway that continues from the end of a controlled-access highway exit ramp
North Carolina red light yes, by state law and city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes fine (ranging from $50 to $100 depending on the jurisdiction); no points and not used for insurance purposes none
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
North Dakota red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Ohio red light yes, by state law and city ordinance statewide yes fine which shall not exceed the maximum fine imposed for a substantially equivalent criminal traffic law violation (not more than $150 for a traffic control signal violation, which is a minor misdemeanor); no points and not used for insurance purposes none
speed yes, by state law and city ordinance statewide yes none not permitted on interstates when operated by townships
Oklahoma red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Oregon red light yes, by state law statewide yes same as traditional enforcement penalty; Class B traffic violation resulting in a maximum $1,000 fine none
speed yes, by state law statewide yes same as traditional enforcement penalty; traffic violation resulting in a fine, which varies depending on how fast above the speed limit the vehicle is traveling in specified jurisdictions, may not be used for more than 4 hours per day, may not be used on controlled access highways, and must be operated by uniformed police officer out of marked police vehicle; in construction zones, citations issued only when workers are present and must be operated by a uniformed police officer out of marked police vehicle
Pennsylvania red light yes, by state law and city ordinance specified jurisdictions yes maximum fine of $100; not a criminal conviction, not included in the driving record, and shall not used for insurance purposes none
speed yes, by state law active work zones, effective 2/16/19; Philadelphia, effective 12/18/18 yes written warning for a first offense in an active work zone, $75 for a second offense and $150 for third or subsequent offense; potential pilot programs are limited to a maximum fine of $150 in work zones, citations issued only when workers are present
Rhode Island red light yes, by state law and city ordinance statewide yes fine of $85; not a moving violation nor a criminal conviction and not included in driving record; not used for insurance purposes until there is a final adjudication none
speed yes, by state law school zones, Monday through Friday, between 7:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. from August 15 through June 7/10/2018 12:00:00 AM yes $50 fine first and second offense, $95 fine third and subsequent offense; not considered a moving violation nor captured on the driving record none
South Carolina red light generally prohibited by state law statewide no none specified authorized only for violations that occur during emergency
speed generally prohibited by state law statewide no none specified authorized only for violations that occur during emergency
South Dakota red light no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a state law prohibits Department of Public Safety and Division of Motor Vehicles from providing to other states information that can be used by those states to impose or collect civil fine resulting from alleged violation enforced by camera program
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a state law prohibits Department of Public Safety and Division of Motor Vehicles from providing to other states information that can be used by those states to impose or collect civil fine resulting from alleged violation enforced by camera program
Tennessee red light yes, by state law and city ordinance statewide yes $50 fine; not included in driving record and not used for credit rating or insurance purposes none
speed yes, by state law and city ordinance a school zone and on any S-curve that inhibits a driver's full vision through the bend yes $50 fine none
Texas red light no, prohibited by state law some communities may continue to operate under the terms of a contract signed before the ban enacted June 2019 yes maximum $75 civil or administrative penalty; DMV may refuse to register a vehicle alleged to have been involved in a violation; not classified as a criminal offense, not included in the driving record, and not used for credit rating none
speed no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a n/a
Utah red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed yes, by state law school zones and areas that have a posted speed limit of 30 mph or less no not reportable and no points police officer must be present
Vermont red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Virginia red light yes, by state law and city ordinance statewide yes monetary penalty of not more than $50; not considered a conviction, not included in the driving record, and not used for insurance purposes systems allowed at no more than 1 intersection for every 10,000 residents in each community, except for communities under the Northern Virginia Regional Commission, which are allowed systems at no more than 10 intersections or no more than 1 intersection for every 10,000 residents, whichever is greater
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
Washington red light yes, by state law and city ordinance statewide at intersections of 2 arterials yes maximum $250 fine; not included in the driving record and shall be processed in the same manner as parking infractions none
speed yes, by state law and city ordinance school speed zones yes fine no greater than the fine for a parking infraction within the jurisdiction; not included in the driving record and shall be processed in the same manner as parking infractions for any city west of Cascade mountains, city may only operate one speed camera and Washington state legislature must have first authorized its use and location for at least 1 full year
West Virginia red light no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a n/a
speed no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a n/a
Wisconsin red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no, prohibited by state law n/a no n/a n/a
Wyoming red light no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a
speed no state law or city ordinance n/a no n/a n/a