Alcohol interlock laws by state

Interlock required
State to drive during ALS (first offense) to drive during post-conviction license suspension to reinstate license after conviction
First offender Repeat offender First offender Repeat offender
Alabama no option for driving during suspension yes yes no yes
Alaska yes yes yes yes yes
Arizona no, although interlock use is incentivizedFootnote 1 no yes yes yes
Arkansas yes yes yes no no
California no, although interlock use is incentivizedFootnote 1 yes, in Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare counties yes yes, in Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare counties yes, in Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare counties
Colorado yes yes yes no yes
Connecticut no option for driving during suspension, which lasts 45 days, after which interlock required to reinstate no option for driving during suspension, which lasts 45 days, after which interlock required to reinstate no option for driving during suspension, which lasts 45 days, after which interlock required to reinstate yes yes
Delaware no option for driving during suspensionFootnote 2 yes yes yes yes
District of Columbia no yes yes no no
Florida no no, unless offenders' BAC at or above 0.15 yes no, unless offenders' BAC at or above 0.15 yes
Georgia no, although interlock use is incentivizedFootnote 3 no yes no yes
Hawaii yes yes yes yes yes
Idaho no, although interlock required to reinstate no for offenders with BAC below 0.20; no option for driving during suspension for offenders with BAC at or above 0.20Footnote 4 no option for driving during suspensionFootnote 5 yes yes
Illinois yes no yes no yes
Indiana no no no no no
Iowa yes yes yes no yes
Kansas no option for driving during suspension, which lasts 30 days, after which interlock required to reinstate for offenders with BAC below 0.15, no option for driving during suspension, which lasts 30 days, after which interlock required to reinstate yes yes yes
Kentucky no ALS for first test failure yes (effective 07/01/20) yes (effective 07/01/20) no (effective 07/01/20) no (effective 07/01/20)
Louisiana no, although interlock use is incentivizedFootnote 1 yes yes no no
Maine no, although interlock use is incentivizedFootnote 6 no, although interlock use is incentivizedFootnote 6 yes no no
Maryland no, although interlock use is incentivizedFootnote 3 yes, if license suspension imposed yes yes, for "driving under the influence" violations yes
Massachusetts no option for driving during suspension, which lasts 30 days no yes no yes
Michigan no ALS for first test failure no, unless offenders' BAC at or above 0.17 yes no yes
Minnesota no, although interlock use for offenders below 0.16 is incentivizedFootnote 3 and interlock required for offenders with BAC at or above 0.16 no, although interlock use for offenders below 0.16 is incentivizedFootnote 3 and interlock required for offenders with BAC at or above 0.16 yes no no
Mississippi yes yes yes no no
Missouri no, although interlock use is incentivizedFootnote 1 no, although interlock use is incentivizedFootnote 1 yes no yes
Montana no ALS for first test failure no no no no
Nebraska yes yes yes yes yes
Nevada yesFootnote 7 yes yes yes yes
New Hampshire no option for driving during suspension yes no option for driving during suspension no yes
New Jersey no ALS for first test failure no suspension after conviction (effective 12/01/19) yes (effective 12/01/19) yes (effective 12/01/19) yes
New Mexico yes yes yes yes yes
New York no ALS for first test failure yes, as a condition of probation or conditional discharge yes yes, as a condition of probation or conditional discharge yes
North Carolina no no, unless offenders' BAC at or above 0.15 no option for driving during suspension no, unless offenders' BAC at or above 0.15 yes
North Dakota no no no no no
Ohio no no, although interlock use is incentivizedFootnote 3 yes no no
Oklahoma yes yes yes no no
Oregon no yes yes yes yes
Pennsylvania no ALS for first test failure no, unless offenders' BAC at or above 0.10 yes no, unless offenders' BAC at or above 0.10 yes
Rhode Island no ALS for first test failure yes yes no yes
South Carolina no ALS for first test failure no, for offenders with BAC below 0.15; no option for driving during suspension for offenders with BAC at or above 0.15 no option for driving during suspension no, unless offenders' BAC at or above 0.15 yes
South Dakota no ALS for first test failure no no no no
Tennessee no ALS for first test failure yes yes no yes, when prior conviction occurred within the past 5 years
Texas no yes, if license suspension imposed yes no yes, when prior conviction occurred within the past 5 years
Utah no no option for driving during suspension no option for driving during suspension yes yes
Vermont yes yes yes no no
Virginia no option for driving during suspension, which lasts 7 days yes yes no yes
Washington yes yes yes yes yes
West Virginia yes yes yes no yes
Wisconsin no no no no no
Wyoming no no yes no, unless offenders' BAC at or above 0.15 yes